Make-your-own Granola

 

Breakfast

In a bid to eat less crap I have decided to try and make my cooking less full of butter and sugar (by which I mean less fun), and so I thought it would be nice to make some granola for healthy, fruity, yoghurty breakfasts.

Now I’m aware that making granola does not really count as baking, it’s really more assembly, but it was still fun and so easy I could totally do it every week. My friend Hannah gave me a recipe from a book she bought called ‘Domestic Sluttery’ but to be honest you don’t really need a recipe, (if you really want one there are loads online of course).

Basically you mix oats nuts and seeds with honey and vegetable oil and add spices (I used cinnamon and nutmeg), bake all that in the oven for about 20 mins stirring occasionally to make sure it all gets nicely browned. Then once it’s cool add dried friuts of your choice.

I used, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, pine nuts and pecans, sour cherries, golden sultanas and dried blueberries. It is pretty fucking delicious and note NO sugar needed. I’ve been eating it with some plain yoghurt and sliced banana for breakfast and it’s perfect.

The great thing about this is that you can personalise it and make it differently every week. I recently went for breakfast at The Albion, and

Granola had the most amazing dried apricots which had been soaked in vanilla so I might try making some of these to go in next week’s batch.

Posted in Eat

Leave a Reply

