Cross Stitch Jam Pot Covers

Pot cover

Just to be clear, I’m not a huge fan of cross stitch. That is to say, I don’t hate it, but it’s not a craft I have lots of time for myself. However, on this occasion I have made an exception.

On holiday in France recently I came across a quilting/knitting/general craft shop (much to Simon’s disappointment) and found these cute little jam pot covers in aida fabric.  Having just made a shit load of jam this seemed like the perfect accompanying craft to transform them into gifts.

Strawberry

I had some left over crewel wool from the Olde Towne crewel work project, which I used instead of embroidery thread and I found the pattern for free on this fab blog – instant gratification craft, you can’t often say that about cross stitich.

PS I still don’t like cross stitch

Posted in Sew

5 thoughts on “Cross Stitch Jam Pot Covers

  1. They look lovely! Tempted to buy some myself but I only know about three people who’d appreciate the amount of effort and one of them wrote this blog post.

  2. And Lizzy – I am one of the others!

    I am sending this over to a friend who has just discovered that she LOVES cross stitch AND she makes jam!

    You did a beautiful job with your jam covers considering it was nearly forced labor!

  3. This is the friend Pam mentioned, and my goodness, I love these! This perfectly combines my two passions these days: jam and cross stitch.

    It took me a while to get into cross stitch and now that I’m in there’s no turning back. And, I mean, what’s not to love about jam, everyone loves it…right?! These covers are wonderful, I must try them, stat! Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

