Custom House Olde Towne Crewel Work

Olde Towne - the finished article

I got this kit from the Purl Bee for my birthday, I was SUPER excited about it. I like the idea of embroidery but find it rather daunting, this was perfect for me as it was quite open stitching and I learnt loads of different stitches.

Top half

The kit comes with everything you need plus a whole stitch booklet (type-written) and really detailed hand-written instructions. This made it feel very cottagy and vintage.

Bottom half

Basically I couldn’t put it down, it was so much fun to do.

Brilliant tree and cobblestones

I need to get it framed and then it will take pride of place in my Haberdashery.

Amazing tree, shit man

For my next project I’d like to try these goldfinches, maybe for my grandmother, or there are some amazing jacobean samplers around, but what would I DO with them? Answers on a postcard…

Goldfinches Custom House Pattern

Posted in Sew

7 thoughts on “Custom House Olde Towne Crewel Work

  1. When you find embroidery patterns like this one, it is indeed almost impossible to want to do nothing else but work on it. It was so hard to control my fingers and keep them from ordering this pattern on the spot! But goodness knows i have already got – uh lets see – about 1..2…3…4… argh 12 projects in the works right now! Must not add another. MUST not!

    But oh how my eyes enjoyed studying all your close-up images of the finished piece. I love the charm of this pattern and YOU did a beautiful job of stitching.

    Thank you so much for sharing this piece with all of us.

  2. It’s beautiful Kim. My Mum bought me a Jacobean Crewel work for my birthday last year, yet to start it as I have far too much on the go already, but having seen yours my fingers are itching!! Its a “Needleworks by Sue Hawkins” kit that we bought at the Malvern Quilt Show.

Leave a Reply

