Adorable Baby Beanie

Baby Beanie

I know it’s summer but babies still need gifts and if it has no hair a cute hat makes all the difference (especially if i’s a girl). This is made for my friend Louise who is had her absolutely beautiful baby yesterday, I knew it was going to be a girl, which is fortunate as this is not a unisex item, even without the flower. I made a second one for another baby girl, as yet unknown.

This is an excellent pattern,  it’s free (you can find it on The Dainty Daisy, really lovely photography too), has many different sizes and crochets up in about 2 hours including the flower, perfect!

Mint green beanie

The pattern specifies aran weight yarn and a 6mm hook, I didn’t have any nice aran so I used dk and a 5mm hook and made the 3-6 month size which I think will fit a newborn. The flower is brilliant and I will be using that pattern again (from Action Hero), I love the 3d-ness of it.

I think this is a great summer baby gift as it’s not going to be too hot and still looks pretty, I think it would look even better in a cotton yarn, I might try that next.

 

2 thoughts on “Adorable Baby Beanie

  1. OMG did you have to do this to me? ARGH. I really don’t want to take up crochet. I am getting all dabblered out!! But this is by far the cutest hat i ever saw. I would wear it. totally. Maybe Diane would make me a grown-up version. No – probably won’t have time! Argh – I don’t have time to learn a new skill! You are such a temptress.

Leave a Reply

