Macbook Sleeve

Macbook Sleeve

As you may be aware, I quit my job in December last year and am now fortunate enough to have two really interesting part time jobs instead of one frustrating full time one – lucky me!

In both of my new jobs I need to take my laptop with me places (yes I’m one of those twats in Starbucks on my laptop, that’s my office now) and I have been becoming concerned that it has no protection knocking around in my handbag so today I made a sleeve for it.

101 Great Ways to Sew a Metre

I used (vaugely) a pattern in this book I got for my birthday, it was really helpful in terms of how to measure your laptop and make it fit (allowing for seaming and ease) but I wanted an integrated flap and a contrast colour so I made some modifications to the design.

Laptop Sleeve Pattern

I used some Ikea fabric I bought in the sale ages ago (I always do this, piles of one metre pieces I have no plan for…) and some contrasting pink polycotton for the lining. I used the thinnest wadding I could find as I didn’t want it to be too bulky but in hindsight it could have been rather better padded.

Macbook snugly ensconced in his sleeve

However for a couple of hours work I pretty bloody pleased with myself, my laptop now looks stylish (to impress other Starbucks frequenters – most important) and has some protection when lugging it around London.

3 thoughts on “Macbook Sleeve

  1. VERY cool way to give your lap top a home while traveling between lattes!

    I love the fabric. I usually visit Ikea with my sweetie and have never discovered the fabric department! Maybe my sweetie has been cleverly steering me in another direction as we approach!

    If I am ever lucky enough to own something small and portable in the way of a computer, i am definitely following your lead! You certainly were right on target with your beautiful socks!

    I am currently knitting my forth pair using “the” pattern!

Leave a Reply

