The Best Fairisle Baby Cardigan

Ruffleefunt

I’m calling this the ruffle-e-funt, for obvious reasons. I have recently discovered that colour work is ‘my thing’, I really enjoy the knitting but I love the finished article, love it I tell you!

Close up

I wanted to make something for Lizzy’s baby that she could wear, maybe when she’s a little older than newborn and I found this pattern on Ravelry and immediately fell in love with it. I was concerned it might be a bit beyond me but I have to say it’s a brilliant pattern, really easy to follow, well written and knits up beautifully, it’s excellent value for money too as it makes 4 sizes (newborn to 2yrs) and includes blank yoke charts for you to create your own fairisle pattern if you choose. I made the 6-12 months size but I would say it’s slightly larger than that, although, I really have no idea how big babies are so this is all conjecture.

I used this 100% merino superwash which is warm and soft but you can bung in the machine at 40ºC, which I assume is quite important when you have a small child. Very affordable too, I will be using it again!

Buttons de Paris

I bought these buttons a while ago at a market in France on a whim with no idea what I would use them for but they were perfect for this. Don’t you just love how they come on that retro card, I almost didn’t want to cut them off…

Back view

This is my first cardigan ever and my biggest fairisle project to date and, to be honest, I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself. Okay so the buttons aren’t quite the same colour as the wool and my gauge was ever-so-slightly off but on the whole I think it’s beautiful, even if I do say so myself. If I were to knit it again, which I definitely WILL, I think I would add a band of the white zig zag pattern at the bottom of the body and sleeves too.

Looking forward to a photo of Beatrix in this little number!

5 thoughts on “The Best Fairisle Baby Cardigan

  1. It’s even better in real life than it looks in the photos here. I coudn’t have knitted this as colour work is not ‘my thing’. I can’t imagine her being big enough to fit this…but I’m sure that day will come around sooner than I think.

  2. I am so excited to finally SEE this little sweater! OMG it is so adorable. and you did a spectacular job of knitting. You definitely should be proud of yourself!

    Thank you soooooo much for sharing the photos.

  3. You did a wonderful job on this sweater … the buttons are perfect, and I love the colors you chose!

    I made a version of this for my daughter last winter, and did add the zig-zag row on the yoke (I think it balances the design … gives the elephants something to “stand” on), but didn’t think about adding one to the cuff, too. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

