Curious George

Monkey!

I found this pattern just before I discovered Lizzy was pregnant and I knew I just had to make it for her (well, for the baby really).

I spent a while looking for just the right yarn as there are some awful colours on ravelry which just ruin it and I wanted it to be soft and cuddly for the baby. I used Rico Merino Essentials for the brown, unfortunately that didn’t have a cream colourway so I used Rico Baby Classic for that which is also lovely but a little fluffier, they actually work really well together because his ‘fur’ has a nice sheen and the contrast of the textures makes it look more realistic, not really, but you know what I mean – it works.

The pattern is really easy to follow so all you crochet-phobes should have a go at this, it’s only single crochet and the instructions are clear and simple with minimal but beautiful shaping. I love the way his little bottom sticks out (didn’t get a photo of that stupidly, but rest assured it’s extremely cute). It really didn’t take me very long at all to make this, but I spent a while procrastinating on the embroidery stuffing and sewing together as I know that’s the bit where you can really screw it up. I agonised about embroidering his face for ages but was pleasantly surprised at the end result. A tip in a lot of books about making soft toys is to always do the embroidery before sewing onto the body, that way if you mess it up beyond all rescuing you only have to re-do the head without unpicking and potentially ruining the body too.

It’s actually rather larger than I imagined it to be – it will be bigger that the baby for a while šŸ™‚ – but overall I’m so pleased with it, it’s like the polar opposite of the shit turtle: cute, smiley, mischievous but NOT EVIL (phew!) and most importantly Lizzy and Mark love him.

6 thoughts on “Curious George

  1. Thank you Kimberly, Mark and I do indeed love him, he’s gorgeous. I would have another go at crochet but you’re so good at it i’d rather just commision you! X

Leave a Reply

