Canteen Roast Tomato and Goat’s Cheese Tart

The tart - fresh out the oven

Oh yum!  My friend Nell judged me perfectly when she bought me the Canteen cookbook for my birthday, it’s full of good hearty English food; pies, stews, puddings etc as well as some beautiful mediterranean summer dishes like this tart.

It’s quite labour and time intensive (assuming you make your own pastry) you have to blind bake the case obviously, roast the tomatoes in a load of garlic, oil and thyme and then assemble and cook the tart, but it was certainly appreciated. We devoured the whole thing between four of us in one sitting.

It was fairly unhealthy being made with egg yolks and double cream, so in future I would probably omit the cream and use the whole egg instead and I would definitely use a stronger goats cheese as the tomatoes have a very intense flavour once roasted.

The tart

I feel this might be the first of many posts about recipes from this cook book, I am a bit obsessed with it at the moment.

Posted in Eat

One thought on “Canteen Roast Tomato and Goat’s Cheese Tart

Leave a Reply

