Kirsch Soufflé

I made these (I say ‘I’, Liz very much took charge of this), Liz and I made these one evening when we had the Ruffles over for dinner. Mark had specified his menu from our excellent ‘The French Kitchen’ by Joanne Harris and ….. and had of course decided he wanted the most difficult thing to make in the book.

As you will know if you have ever made soufflé you can’t prepare anything in advance, it must all be done immediately before serving which is a lot of pressure. A good antidote to that pressure is to get rather drunk and make someone help you. We also had to go across the hall and borrow an electric whisk from our neighbours, basically I was a bad host.

Regardless of all these hindering factors I think they turned out well, the texture was excellent and they tasted really good although not as kirsch-y as I would have liked. If I were to make them again I think I would make a kirsch syrup and put a little in the bottom of the ramekins before adding the whisked mixture.

They certainly look really impressive but I personally prefer a savoury (cheese) soufflé.

Posted in Eat

One thought on “Kirsch Soufflé

  1. I think it’s a host’s perogative to become drunk and slightly useless by the time dessert comes around, hence making a souffle a particularly tall order. Good work! I’ve never made one, so I’m adding this to the list…x

Leave a Reply

