Kirstie’s Homemade Christmas – Christmas Mince Pie Buns

 A post by Lizzy
Tasty, and possibly wasted on the Mince Pie Buns

Tasty, and possibly wasted on the Mince Pie Buns

Following Kimberly’s review of Kirstie’s Homemade Christmas I decided to make the Christmas Mince Pie Buns. Well I say I used her recipe but actually I used Delia’s recipe for mince meat…because (and I don’t want to sound too smug here) I started preparing for Christmas weeks ago.

Pastry and mince meat - what's not to love

Pastry and mince meat - what's not to love

So basically I don’t think the Mince Pie Buns look very good (add your own comments I won’t be offended). I don’t think they look as nice as normal mince pies. I’m not entirely sure why I didn’t add some brown sugar to the top of them before I put them in the oven (this isn’t in the recipe but I think it would have made them look marginally more attractive).

Mince Pie Buns ready for the bottoms to be snipped off

Mince Pie Buns ready for the bottoms to be snipped off

I’m a little disappointed, it was decent mince meat and I can’t help but think it’s basically been wasted on some not particularly attractive buns that will win me no points with my colleagues. (And I only managed to get 12 from one packet of puff pastry, so I don’t think they’re particularly economical either).

The finished ince pie buns, not as impressive as I'd have liked

The finished ince pie buns, not as impressive as I'd have liked

I haven’t tried one yet as it’s far too late to be eating mince pies…but I will let you know what I think tomorrow!

Posted in Eat

2 thoughts on “Kirstie’s Homemade Christmas – Christmas Mince Pie Buns

  1. I am love love loving the snowflakes, particularly the one on the right, they would look at home on my tree, alas I canne crochet…………

Leave a Reply

