Walnut Kisses

Walnut kisses - yum

Walnut kisses - yum

I’m having image trouble with the post that I was going to do so here’s some baking fun.

A few Christmases ago I got a book called Homemade cookies in my stocking. I have to confess that I thought it would be a case of style over substance…cute but with no decent recipes. But I was completely wrong – never judge a book by its cover.

I’ve made several of the recipes but a couple of weeks ago I had some left over egg whites and made the walnut kisses one.

They look a little like Hershey’s kisses but are basically tiny piped meringues with ground walnuts in.

I’d definetly make them again as they’re wonderfully chewy, and they’d go brilliantly with coffee if you have that kind of dinner party. Next time I might substitute almonds or pistachios for the walnuts.

If you don’t want to buy the book but want to give it a go then it’s well worth just grinding up some nuts and sticking them in a standard meringue recipe.

They didn’t last very long…I think they were all gone on the day they were made.

Posted in Eat

One thought on “Walnut Kisses

  1. Ooh maybe I’ll try these next time you come over… Although ‘that kind of dinner party’ makes it sound very dodgy 🙂

Leave a Reply

