Nigella’s Rosebud Madeleines

Delicious Rosebud Madeleines from Nigella Lawson's How to be a Domestic Goddess

Delicious Rosebud Madeleines from Nigella Lawson's How to be a Domestic Goddess

Way back in the summer I got married so spent a (not very) nice afternoon in John Lewis putting ridiculous things on our wedding list and waiting to see if anyone would buy them us.

One of the many extravagant and (probably) pointless items I added to the list, and which someone actually bought, was a silicon Madeline mould.

So here’s my first attempt at making Madeline’s using the ‘Rose Bud Madeline’s’ recipe from Nigella’s ‘How to be a domestic goddess’.

Overall I was pretty pleased with the recipe but it claimed you could make 48 and I only managed to make 18 so I’m pretty sure my moulds are larger than Nigella’s.

They tasted delicious and were gone within an hour of being cooked. Next time I’ll make double the quantity, and I’m going to check some rose water in the next fairy cakes I make as this seems like a very easy way to add some class to a basic sponge recipe.

I think the most annoying thing about this recipe is the fact that you have to leave the mixture in the fridge for one hour. While this is a good exercise in self discipline it’s kind of annoying when you just want to eat cake. I can’t work out how to make a nice gallery of images so here are the finished items.

3 thoughts on “Nigella’s Rosebud Madeleines

Leave a Reply

