Summer Vegetable Flan

Summer Vegetable Flan

This is most certainly not a quiche. I foolishly used the ‘q’ word after we ate this, much to Simon’s disgust, so we will only be referring to it by it’s true title of flan.

We had a load of random vegetables left over from our veg box which I didn’t really know what to do with. I’ve never made a flan before, my mum makes the most scrumptious quiches but in my head they are really difficult to do, I’m an idiot, it’s SO easy. This is my very own recipe (which I’m hugely proud of – I’ve never created a recipe before) although I’m sure it’s far from original.

Ingredients

  • Shortcrust pastry (home made) – I use the Dairy Book of Home Cookery recipe – works perfectly every time. Especially if I get Simon to do it…
  • 3 eggs
  • 250ml milk
  • 3 small red onions, sliced
  • 1 yellow pepper, roughly chopped
  • sugar snap peas
  • 1 courgette sliced
  • handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 50g parmesan, finely grated
  • 1 banon (or other goats cheese)

Roll out the pastry and lay it into a large flan tin, blind bake for 20 mins.

Stir fry the onions, sugar snap peas, courgette and pepper for about 5 minutes, they should still retain some bite. Obviously the whole point of this is that you can use up any leftover veg or weird oddments from your veg box and I think any summer veg would work really.

Whisk together the eggs and milk and add the parmesan. Put the vegetables into the flan case and pour the egg mixture over the top. Halve the tomatoes and slice the banon and arrange both on top of the flan. Season.

Bake in the oven for about 45 mins or until the top is golden and bubbling. Serve with a crisp green salad. Bite me Nigella!

Vegetable summer flan - just before cookingSorry about the crappy photos, I was clearly far too excited about getting this into my greedy mouth to get it focussed 🙂

Posted in Eat

One thought on “Summer Vegetable Flan

Leave a Reply

