Piccalilli

So today I decided, on a whim, to make some piccalilli. img_02402

My boyfriend’s mum got me the most fantastic book for Christmas – The National Trust ‘Good Old Fashioned Jams, Preserves and Chutneys’ book

We had a load of cauliflower from our veg box (which isn’t the most inspiring vegetable I find) plus some shallots and courgettes, the recipe says cucumber but i’m not that keen on it and courgette has the same basic make up so I used those instead plus some extras from the supermarket in the shape of green beans and chillies.

I chopped them all up and blanched them in salted water – Simon came in at this point and contributed his first comment of ‘fuck is that ALL going in there?!’

img_02361

I mixed all the spices and a little of the vinegar together to make a ‘paste’ – hmm looking a little dense to be truly a paste but whatever…

img_02423

Then I boiled it up to thicken (at this point Simon yelled through ‘that smells disgusting’ – what heartening encouragement!), You know how piccalilli in the shops look’s bright yellow and deliciously saffrony? well mine looks brown…

img_02451

I think this is probably due to the addition of medium madras curry powder rather than the mild which was recommended but I’m comforting myself with the fact that this is a home-made, organic (mainly) chutney with no horrible added colours or preservatives – IT IS OKAY! You can’t tell me any different, YOU CAN’T!

Anyway after I coated the veg in the sauce it looks a lot more appetising and once I get it in the jars with some cute rustic labels and fabric covers it’ll look yummy, and taste yummy too of course!

img_0246

I’ll post some photos of it all bottled up tomorrow – you’re supposed to store it for 2-3 months before eating to let all the flavours infuse but I’m going to try some tomorrow to test it. Then I’ll get the verdict from the in-laws in the summer, a perfect ploughmans accompaniment.

Posted in Eat